icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

2019 Impact Awards Highlights

Iman wears a royal blue gown while accepting an award. She is speaking at a pedestal decorated with a CARE logo.

Thanks to all of our supporters, at the 2019 CARE Impact Awards we raised $2.1M to fight global poverty! Check out some of our favorite moments from the 2019 dinner in the video above.

2019 Honorees

Anousheh Ansari


Impact Award for Inspiration

Cathy Engelbert

Commissioner of the Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA)

Impact Award for Women’s Empowerment

Amanda Gorman

First Ever Youth Poet Laureate of the United States

Impact Award for Gender Equality

Danai Gurira

Tony-nominated Playwright, Actress, and UN Women Goodwill Ambassador

Impact Award for Global Equality

Annie Lamont

Co-Founder and Managing Partner of Oak HC/FT

Impact Award for Investment Excellence

Thanks to our 2019 Host Committee, Speakers and Special Guests!

Emcee & Entertainment

Jonathan Capehart
Pulitzer Prize-winning opinion writer for The Washington Post and MSNBC Contributor

Kimberley Locke
Singer-Songwriter and CARE Ambassador

Honorary Co-Chairs

CARE’s Global Advocate

Zac Posen


Jon Banner
Executive Vice President, Global Communications, PepsiCo, and President, The PepsiCo Foundation

Martha Brooks
Co-Chair of the Board, CARE, and President and COO (Retired), Novelis Inc.

Richard D. Cohen
President and CEO, Capital Properties Services, LLC

Lauren Conrad and Hannah Skvarla
Co-Founders, The Little Market

Jay Hallik
Board Member, CARE, and Managing Director, Morgan Stanley

Glenn Hutchins
Co-Chair of the Board, CARE, and Chairman, North Island and Co-Founder, Silverlake

Dina Powell McCormick
Member of the Management Committee, Goldman Sachs

Karen Mehra and Sanjeev Mehra
Managing Partner, Periphas Capital

Kathryn Petralia
Board Member, CARE, and President and Co-Founder, Kabbage Inc.

Steve Simmons
Chairman, RCN

Scott M. Stuart
Co-founder Sageview Capital

Global Visionary

Peter and Sarah Beshar
Delta Air Lines
Jay and Vanessa Hallik
The PepsiCo Foundation

Global Ambassador

Cargill Inc.
Richard D. Cohen
Deidra Wager
Chang K. Park

Global Investor

Martha and Toby Brooks
Susan Crown
Steven and Roberta Denning
Kabbage Inc.
Knights Bridge Winery on behalf of Jim Bailey
Sue and Steve Mandel
Karen and Sanjeev Mehra
Morgan Stanley
William and Jane Mosakowski
Kathryn and Mark Petralia
Steve and Eileen Simmons
Scott M. Stuart
Tishman Speyer
The UPS Foundation

Global Benefactor

Anousheh Ansari
Andrew Arena
Edward Bayliss
Kwasi Benneh
Ryan Buckham
The Honorable Dwight L. Bush and Antoinette Cook Bush
Eduardo Castro-Wright and Fabiola De Castro
Alex Chilton
Nathan Coelen
Lindsey Coleman
David Cohen
Chris Cost
Bernard A. Costello
Stephen Dance
Michael Devine
Dine Brands Global Foundation
Rebecca Dorrian
James E. Flaum
Ben Friedland
John Gally
Geller & Company
Patrick Haskell
Steve Joyce
John Landers
Rehan Latif
Will Lee
Daniel Leiter
Tessa Lyons
Joan Marron
Christopher May
Dina Powell McCormick and David McCormick
Brian P. McGowan
Greg McMullen
Derek Melvin
Thiago Melzer
Jared Mesznik
Garrett and Mary Morgan
Muller Shipping
Mitchell Nadel
Kevin C. Ng
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital
Niall O’Rourke
Stuart Perilstein
Massimo Piazzi
Power Corporation of Canada
Amol Prasad
Thomas Rende
Santander US
Chad Shampine
John Sheldon
Sam Kellie Smith
Steven Stern
Vanessa Vanacker
Rich Vandermass
Brian Walker
David Wasserman
Erik Wilde
Brian Wynne

Global Supporter

John and Stephanie Connaughton
Johnson & Johnson
Steven and Rachel Kelley
Paul Marvin and Melissa Geiger
McCormick & Co, Inc.
Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.
Scott Schoen and Nancy Adams
The Schwartz Family Foundation
Ananymous (2)

Global Friend

Dan Berger
Johanna Brookner
Dorothy and Mike Connor
Marlyn Day
Michèle Flournoy
Martin E. Gold and Mary Byrne
Everett Harper
Alice Houseknecht
H. Conrad Meyer III
Daniel Ross and Tamara Mitchel
Jeffrey Sonnenfeld
Sullivan & Cromwell, LLP


The Arun and Asmita Bhatia Family Foundation
Jenny Baldock
Sarah Faulkner
Vartan Gregorian
Jessie Jamar
Moscicki Family Foundation
Peggy and Dennis Pausetenbach
Robert Priest
Mr. John and Mrs. Elizabeth Shannon
Roger and Neomia Sundy
Silda A. Wall Spitzer
Carrie Vik

Thank you to our 2019 sponsors!