Hamzari - Lutte contre l'insécurité alimentaire au Niger - CARE

Hamzari

Hamzari, qui signifie «avancer rapidement et régulièrement vers l'objectif» en haussa, est un programme quinquennal de 33 millions de dollars qui vise à s'attaquer directement aux causes sous-jacentes de l'insécurité alimentaire et de la malnutrition - tout en renforçant et / ou en renforçant les systèmes communautaires - en un des régions les plus pauvres du Niger.

Contexte

Les facteurs environnementaux, politiques, sociaux et agro-climatiques au Niger - y compris la diminution de la productivité agricole, la dégénérescence des ressources naturelles et les fréquents chocs naturels et d'origine humaine - sont à l'origine d'un sous-développement persistant et d'une pauvreté extrême. Les inégalités extrêmes entre les sexes et la faible gouvernance sont des moteurs transversaux qui sont à la fois des causes et des conséquences de l'insécurité alimentaire et entravent les progrès vers des solutions durables et inclusives. Hamzari vise à s'attaquer directement à ces causes sous-jacentes de l'insécurité alimentaire et de la malnutrition - tout en renforçant et / ou en renforçant les systèmes communautaires - dans l'une des régions les plus pauvres du Niger.

Intervention

Le département de Maradi de Guidan Roumdji vise à mettre en œuvre une combinaison ciblée mais flexible d'interventions et d'activités pour atteindre son objectif de sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle durable, équitable et résiliente pour les groupes vulnérables, avec un accent particulier sur les femmes, les jeunes et les jeunes enfants en les communautés les plus vulnérables. Il a quatre objectifs spécifiques:

  1. Réduire l'extrême vulnérabilité des femmes vulnérables, des jeunes et des membres des ménages marginalisés de Maradi.
  2. Améliorer l'état nutritionnel des enfants de moins de 5 ans, des adolescentes et des femmes en âge de procréer.
  3. Améliorer l'accès et l'utilisation de services d'eau, d'assainissement et d'hygiène équitables et durables afin de réduire les maladies et la malnutrition parmi les populations vulnérables.
  4. Améliorer les opportunités de moyens de subsistance diversifiés et durables pour améliorer la sécurité alimentaire des femmes pauvres, des jeunes et d'autres groupes vulnérables.

Hamzari exploite deux approches phares de CARE - She Feeds the World, le cadre mondial de CARE pour une sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle améliorée, et l'approche Genre, égalité, voix des femmes et résilience - en plus d'utiliser quatre leviers fondamentaux pour promouvoir un changement transformateur:

  • Renforcer les relations sociales, le leadership et l'action collective.
  • Amélioration des normes sociales et changement de comportement.
  • Soutenir des institutions inclusives et responsables.
  • Augmenter les capacités de résilience.

Hamzari déploie des approches durables qui garantissent l'appropriation communautaire et utilisent des mécanismes d'auto-renforcement et d'auto-transfert. La coordination avec d'autres initiatives de l'USAID, des donateurs, des Nations Unies et du gouvernement garantira une synergie et atténuera les doubles emplois pour atteindre: 96,000 participants directs dans 32,000 ménages répartis dans 325 villages à Chadakori, Guidan Roumdji et Guidan Sori, avec 17,305 conseils alimentaires et nutritionnels.

icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

Hamzari

Hamzari, meaning “move quickly and steadily toward the goal” in the Haussa language, is a five-year, $33 million program that aims to directly address underlying causes of food insecurity and malnutrition – while reinforcing and/or strengthening community systems – in one of the poorest regions of Niger.

Background

Environmental, political, social, and agro-climatic factors in Niger – including diminishing agricultural productivity, degenerating natural resources, and frequent natural and man-made shocks – drive persistent underdevelopment and extreme poverty. Extreme gender inequality and weak governance are cross-cutting drivers that are both causes and consequences of food insecurity and hamper progress toward sustainable and inclusive solutions. Hamzari aims to directly address these underlying causes of food insecurity and malnutrition – while reinforcing and/or strengthening community’s systems – in one of the poorest regions of Niger.

Intervention

The Maradi department of Guidan Roumdji aims to implement a targeted yet flexible combination of interventions and activities to achieve its goal of sustainable, equitable, and resilient food and nutrition security for vulnerable groups, with a special focus on women, youth, and young children in the most vulnerable communities. It has four specific objectives:

  1. Reduce extreme vulnerability for vulnerable women, youth, and marginalized household participants in Maradi.
  2. Improve nutritional status among children under 5 years of age, adolescent girls, and women of reproductive age.
  3. Improve access to and use of equitable and sustainable water, sanitation, and hygiene services to reduce disease and malnutrition among vulnerable populations.
  4. Improve sustainable diversified livelihood opportunities to enhance food security for poor women, youth, and other vulnerable groups.

Hamzari leverages two CARE flagship approaches – She Feeds the World, CARE’s global framework for improved food and nutrition security, and the Gender, Equality, Women’s Voice and Resilience approach – in addition to utilizing four fundamental levers to promote transformative change:

  • Strengthening social relationships, leadership, and collective action.
  • Improving social norms and behavior change.
  • Supporting inclusive and accountable institutions.
  • Increasing resilience capacities.

Hamzari deploys sustainable approaches that ensure community ownership and use self-reinforcing and self-transferring mechanisms. Coordination with other USAID, donor, UN, and government initiatives will ensure synergy and mitigate duplication to reach: 96,000 direct participants in 32,000 households spread across 325 villages in Chadakori, Guidan Roumdji, and Guidan Sori, with 17,305 pregnant women and 23,961 breastfeeding women receiving food and nutritional counseling.

Highlighted learning briefs and resources

Habbanayé: Livestock Asset Building and Protecting Lives in Niger

USAID-HAMZARI deploys sustainable approaches that ensure community ownership and use self-reinforcing and self-transferring mechanisms. One of the flagship activities promoted by HAMZARI is the ‘habbanayé’ activity, a traditional solidarity system. The project enhanced and innovated this practice to maximize its impact.

Read More

Strengthening resilience through cereal banks: A reflection from USAID-HAMZARI

USAID-HAMZARI led support activity for Mata Masu Dubara (MMD), the Village Savings and Loans Associations (VSLA), through the cereal banks thus contributing to the empowerment of underprivileged women and the strengthening of food security in local communities. Cereal banks allow vulnerable farmers not to buy cereals at higher prices during the lean season and not to have to sell their stocks at low prices during the harvest to meet their cash needs.

Read More